Posted in Blogging, Gun Control

Rant about guns…

Okay. So I kind of feel like it might be a bit early in our blogger/reader relationship for me to bring up such a controversial topic as guns. You’ve just barely met me. I think about the old rule of the topics to never bring up at the dinner table, religion and politics, and I would now add guns to that list. But, as my husband pointed out to me, this blog is not a dinner table. Also, seeing as I will probably be talking about religion and politics at some point in this blog as well, that rule is going to go out the window soon anyway. And realistically, if anyone reading this has a problem with this post, you probably shouldn’t be reading my blog anyway, because it’s probably not going to get any less controversial from here on out.

Let me start out by saying that I do not like guns. I can understand guns that are designed for hunting game, I have family members that regularly go hunting for deer, but even so I still don’t like them. I grew up in a house where there were guns locked up in a gun rack on the wall of my parents bedroom. I learned to respect guns, but I never learned to like them.

While I do not like all guns, there are certain guns that I have an extreme dislike of. Namely guns that have no other purpose than to simply kill other human beings. In my mind, these guns have no redeeming quality whatsoever. While I can not and will not go so far as calling an object evil, I still can not bring myself to like something that’s only reason to exist is to kill.

“Guns don’t kill people, people kill people.” Or as someone recently commented on one of my Facebook posts, “It’s not the guns’ fault, it’s the less then intelligent people operating them!” I responded to this by saying that “Yes, it is obviously not the fault of an inanimate object, as objects can not think for themselves.”  But the level of violence that is created by the use of guns is undeniable. I also pointed out that it is much easier for children to accidentally hurt or kill themselves with a gun then with most anything else that they could get their hands on. Simply by being curious, which is the nature of a child. So their statement of it being the fault of the less than intelligent people that use the guns is not always accurate.

Before I go any further in this post, let me make something clear. I do not want to take away all your guns. No one is trying to take away all your guns.  I felt the need to make that abundantly clear, because I see many posts from my friends on Facebook about how everyone is trying take away everyone else’s precious guns. As much as I wish that guns did not exist, I do not realistically believe that we will be able to do away with them all together. Even if we make all guns illegal, criminals won’t care and they will still find a way to arm themselves. I am okay with responsible citizens exercising their 2nd amendment right, but that doesn’t mean that I think that civilians should be able to own any and all types of guns. There are certain types of guns that you simply do not need to own. And there is absolutely no way that wanting to have everyone who wants to buy a gun, no matter who they are buying it from, have to pass a background check can be construed as wanting to take away all your guns.

My statement of not wanting to take away all your guns assumes that you have any business owning a gun in the first place, and that you came by all of your guns legally. And, yes, from what I said before there are certain guns that if you own them, I might want them taken away from you. But do you really need semi-automatic weapons? I also might want to limit the amount of ammo that is available to you. Do you really need to be able to fire 100 bullets before having to reload? Or even 30?

Unlike some people, I do not think that the solution to gun violence is more guns. In fact I find that to be a completely idiotic idea. I shared something on Facebook the other day that said “We reduced drunk driving accidents without a total ban on alcohol. Then again, we didn’t think more alcohol was that solution to drunk driving.”

There is a lot more that I would like to say on this topic, but it’s late and I am tired, and my tired brain is not wanting cooperate with this whole writing thing right now. So I will continue my thoughts on this topic in a later blog post for those of you who want to read them.

One thought on “Rant about guns…

Comments are closed.