Posted in Gun Control

Some more thoughts on guns…

I really do plan on posting about other things in this blog, but the subject of guns has been on my mind a lot lately. I thought that I had said pretty much all I wanted to say on this subject for a while after I finished my last couple posts, but then I go to Facebook and see one of my friends post something stupid about how they’re in danger of having all their guns stolen from them… All of a sudden I have a lot more to say.

I’ve touched on this before, but I’ll state it again. I do not want to take away all your guns. I wondered where this irrational fear of “the government” busting into people’s homes and confiscating all their guns came from. And then I heard the “press conference” (read commercial) that the NRA spokesman recently did, and saw some of the older statements that have been made by the NRA. Every chance that they get to stir up fears of guns being outlawed, they do it. No matter if there is anything real behind their “warnings” or not. Here’s the cycle: the NRA claims that pretty soon certain types of guns (or all guns) are going to be made illegal to buy, which is going to make all the responsible gun owners at risk of being out gunned by the Bad Guys that are going to still illegally acquire said guns. So what is a responsible gun owner to do? Don’t worry, the NRA has a solution! They are going to flood the market with the guns that they are claiming are soon to be made illegal. What do the responsible gun owners do? They go out and buy those “soon to be illegal” guns. And as result the NRA makes a lot money, and the guns usually do not actually become illegal.

The NRA is not an advocate for gun owners, it is an advocate for the gun manufacturers. The NRA is an advocate for the NRA.

I see a lot about how “Obama is going to take away all your guns.” This is a rumor that has been around since when President Obama won the election for his first term. It’s been four years, and the rumor is still floating around. Do you want to know how much President Obama has taken away your guns? If you have a concealed carry permit, you can actually bring your guns to more places, like National Parks.

There is a big difference between wanting to make it harder for people who have no business being anywhere near a gun to be able to buy one, and taking away everyone’s guns. I’ve heard people say, “Don’t make it harder for me to buy my guns. Just make everyone secure their guns better.”  Will it really be all that horrible if you have to go through a little bit more thorough of a screening process before you can get a gun? Especially if it means that you are less likely to be confronted by someone else with a gun that clearly shouldn’t have one? There are already some laws about having to properly secure your guns, but how do people really expect them to be enforced? Are you telling me that you would be okay with people regularly visiting your home to check and make sure that you are in compliance with the laws? Doesn’t it make sense to make sure that people that should not own guns can’t easily buy them? Even if they will eventually acquire them illegally, at least it was harder for them to do so and there are more chances that they will get caught.

“The only way to stop a bad guy with a gun, is a good guy with a gun.” When I heard those words come out of the NRA spokesman’s mouth, I felt sick and so incredibly frustrated at the same time. Then soon after I saw posts all over Facebook about stories of “Person with concealed weapons permit saves the day. Media tries to hide story.” First of all, nobody is claiming that some responsible citizen who happens to own a gun couldn’t find themselves in a situation where they can help to stop things from getting worse. Once again I point out all the situations where there were armed security personnel, and it did not stop the tragedy from happening. Not to mention the fact that if the “media” can hide stories of this nature, that in itself proves that you don’t need to have a gun to stop a bad guy with a gun…

But it doesn’t matter, because already the NRA has made a ton of money off of peoples fears after this latest tragedy… and it makes me sick.

 

