Posted in Apartment Living, Blogging, Childless by Choice, Marriage, Stay at Home Wife

Well, this didn’t go as planned…

I got up this morning with some potential blog post ideas rolling around in my brain. I was trying to figure out which one to go with, and if they would actually work the way that I envisioned them working in my head. Then I remembered it was laundry day.  Not just a normal laundry day of washing a load of clothes, no, I also had a load of sheets and a blanket to wash as well. Now, I realize that that doesn’t seem like a lot for those of you who have kids and do at least 5 loads of laundry every single day, but my Monday laundry day was only supposed to be 1 load of clothes. Normally, I take care of the sheets and the blanket on Sundays. Except yesterday I didn’t. I don’t know why I didn’t. I just simply forgot all about doing it. Although, I now understand why I kept  feeling like I had forgotten to switch over a load of laundry throughout the day yesterday… Oops. Another reason why it being a 3 load laundry day today is kind of a big deal is because of the machines that I have to work with. I love my washing machine. I was finally able to get a new one after dealing with a compact one that decided that it couldn’t complete a spin cycle correctly if I did not reload it before every single spin cycle. It was a good little machine, and it’s a wonder that it lasted as long as it did seeing as we probably overloaded it most loads. Not realizing that it had a lint screen that was supposed to be cleaned after every load until after about 7 years of use, it’s probably a miracle that it lasted as long as it did. I was finally able to get a new washing machine back in Sept. 2012. However, we weren’t able to afford to buy the matching dyer at the same time. And so we have a full size washing machine, paired up with a little compact dryer. It takes forever for things to dry, and usually requires that I sort through the load in the dryer to pull out the dry stuff, clean the lint trap and then stick the stuff that’s still damp back in. Sometimes this process needs to be repeated more than once. So laundry has become a bit of an aggravation again, only in a slightly different way. At least I don’t have to hover around the laundry room listening for when the spin cycle is going to start so that I can hear if it will need my assistance again… but I really can’t wait to get that full size dryer!

So, more laundry loads than expected sidetracked me. Then of course there was Facebook. Gotta stay on top of Facebook, don’t you know. Then a couple of my friends posted things that I felt I had to do research on, in order to leave an informed comment stating why the information given in the post was wrong or misleading. Which lead to me posting a link to my wall that lead to the US Treasury Dept. website.

And of course I need to stay on top of my email. Which lead me WordPress, but not to work on my blog. No, there were other blogs that needed to be read and commented on. And then replies that needed to be written to the replies that I got.

And I also had to go and check out the blogs of people that liked one (or more) of my posts. I especially had to go and check out the blogs of the people who had decided to follow me. So, I would go to someone’s blog and see how long they’ve been blogging, what sort of things they blog about and, if they’ve been blogging for a long time, read a few of their recent blog posts to see if I would be interested in following them as well. If they started their blog rather recently, (like anytime in 2012) I will start at the beginning of their blog and read up till present. Sometimes this doesn’t take too long as they don’t blog very often, or their blog very new. But sometimes I get lost for hours in other peoples blogs. The blogs where I find that happening, I usually realize that I don’t need to get caught up all the way to present before deciding to follow them. So I follow them and continue reading. But today, I had more people start following me as I was still trying to familiarize myself with the ones that followed me earlier. So, I would get caught up with one blog, and start the process over again on the next.

So I therefore neglected giving my followers (thank you to all of you!) something new to read on my blog all day today, because I was too busy getting lost in other peoples blogs… If my blog continues to gain followers I may need to rethink how I approach checking out their blogs… or maybe at least make sure to write my own completely awesome blog post before reading everyone else’s.

2 thoughts on “Well, this didn’t go as planned…

Comments are closed.