Posted in Drawing

A sketch that I had forgotten I’d drawn…

So last night I pulled out my sketchbook with the intention of actually creating something new for the first time in years.

And then promptly got distracted looking through all the old drawings that are contained within it already.

I found a colored pencil drawing that I had forgotten about, and then debated about sharing it on here, because of the indentations from one of my previous abstract pieces that are clearly visible. Oops.

Farm

(click on the image to enlarge)

I decided to go ahead and share it, because as much as those indentations bug me, they were part of a learning experience. Either stop pressing so hard on the pencil while drawing, or put something between the current sheet of paper and the next to prevent this sort of thing from happening in the future.

I also found a watercolor that I did probably back in middle school. (more years ago than I care to think about…) I go between thinking that it clearly looks like a child did it, to really being surprised at how much I like it.

Tree

Like most of my art, it really looks better in person…

I also found a few more abstract pieces that I never got around to inking and coloring. I’ve been thinking of maybe scanning them into my computer and seeing what coloring them using a digital drawing program would be like… I don’t have a tablet computer though, so I’m afraid that I won’t be able to have the control that I’d like to have using my mouse.

Maybe I’ll try it, but maybe I’ll just stick to my colored pencils, and see if I can find a way to scan them so that they look more true to life…

But all of this is me procrastinating from actually trying to create something new… Because, since it’s been so many years since I last drew anything, I’m afraid that I may have lost the ability to create anything worth looking at…

