Posted in Apartment Living, Blogging, Cat Mom, Childless by Choice, Marriage, Mental Health, Stay at Home Wife

Excuses for ignoring my blog…

It’s been almost a month since my last post on here… that is if you count that last post as an actual post… If not, it’s been a month and day since my last actual blog post… oops…

First there was my husband’s week off from work where we actually went on vacation! Granted it was only for one night, but it was our first night in a hotel in close to a decade. Life had gotten extremely stressful with the unexpected news of having to find a new place to live come November if we didn’t feel like spending over $100 more in rent to stay where we are now. Not to mention my neighbors being their normal noisy asshole selves. I “affectionately” refer to the kids in my apartment complex as “Demon Spawn”… and yes, they do deserve the nickname… Their parents aren’t much better either, especially the ones the live right below my apartment. I will never understand the need to play your music so loud that it might as well be playing (and playing loud) in my own living room, not in the floor below…

But, anyway… We needed to get out of our apartment for a while. So we decided to go ahead and take the fairly new FrontRunner line out here as far south as it goes and stay a night at a hotel. The hotel room had a Jacuzzi tub. Enough said. 🙂 We stopped and checked out a couple of nearby shopping malls before taking FrontRunner back home the next day.

The rest of my husband’s vacation was not as relaxing, but we did get a lot done that needed to get done. We checked out some of our top choices for potential apartment complexes. We were only able to check out an actual apartment at one of them, but the information we were able to get and being able to see the grounds of all of them really helped us to decide which complex we’d like to try to move to in November. Since we are planning on downsizing from a 2 bedroom apartment to a 1 bedroom, we needed to go through our storage closets and downsize the amount of stuff that we have. It was not fun, but we got rid of a ton of stuff and I am feeling a lot more confident about being able to fit our stuff into a smaller apartment now.

The time after my husband went back to work up to the beginning of last week was filled with good intentions. I intended to keep up with my email, reading the blogs that I follow, and posting a new blog post or two on my own blog… but it just somehow didn’t work out that way. Posting a blog post wouldn’t have been all that hard either seeing as I found a whole bunch of new artwork that I need to add to my “My Artwork” page, plus I finished a couple of new pieces… and yet I just never seemed to be able to find my way to my blog.

Then there was last week. The Week From Hell. It started with all of my random anxiety that had been building over the last few weeks finally boiling over in the form of a massive panic attack on Sunday. I was still anxious and drawn in on myself on Monday and Tuesday, but slowly getting better. Until there was a knock on the door Tuesday evening right around dinner time. It was the maintenance guy showing up to “fix” our swamp cooler. He invited himself in and we had to explain to him for at least the 5th time what was actually wrong with our swamp cooler. (It worked on low, but the output of air wasn’t any more on high. Plus it had a tendency to squeal. Loudly.) He proceeded to ignore what we told him and tried to fix problems that we didn’t have. After about 2 or so hours he succeeded in breaking our swamp cooler so that it wouldn’t even turn on at all and leaving us without a working swamp cooler overnight. Which was super annoying because it was hot and we almost never turn our swamp cooler on high anyway. We were fine with dealing with it working only on low since this is the last summer that we plan on having to deal with it anyway. Then I had to get up early and wait around all day for the maintenance guy to show up on Wednesday. When he finally did show up (at least 4 hours later than when he said he’d be there) he managed to get the swamp cooler working again but this time he left us with the choice of having to leave it running until he came back again on Thursday to fix one last problem, or risk having it not turn on again if we turned it off. I went from sweating one night, to freezing the next night because I didn’t want to risk not having any sort of air conditioning during the next day. He was late showing up again on Thursday, but very quickly fixed the part that needed to be fixed and left us with a swamp cooler that works on all settings. We thought that would be the end of that, but on Friday our swamp cooler just randomly stopped working on us. We flipped the breaker and tried to turn it on again. Nothing. So we called the office only to find that we would need to wait until Monday to have it fixed, because the maintenance guy only works Mon-Fri. Nevermind the fact that it’s supposed to be close to 90 degrees out here this weekend and we live in a top floor apartment… After hanging up the phone I tried flipping the breaker a couple more times and the swamp cooler started working again. So we canceled the work order and are now hoping that it will continue to at least work on low for the rest of the summer… because I am so past being done with dealing with our maintenance guy…

And here’s a random (not so great) photo of my most recent (not so great) do-it-yourself manicure… You’re welcome… 🙂

IMG_20130608_223423

 

2 thoughts on “Excuses for ignoring my blog…

  1. Apartment woes bite. I had to find a place that would take me after my divorce and ended up staying for 5 years. The final straw was when the one toilet broke over a holiday weekend and they couldn’t get the big boss on the phone to fix it. We had to use the model apartment 3 doors down anytime we needed the bathrroom that weekend. Ugh. We moved to another apartment last year and have been happy ever since.

    Anyway, been there done that and wishing you luck in the apartment search. I want to know what colors you used on your nails!

    Like

  2. Yeah, we moved into this apartment sight unseen about 6 years ago because we had to move out of our last one unexpectedly. (Our landlord apparently decided paying taxes were optional or something along those lines…) We have wanted to move to a better place for years, but up until recently it made more sense financially to just stay here and deal with the little annoyances that come with this apartment. Ever since we decided that this year is the year that we will finally move, one thing after another has been making it very clear that moving is the right choice. I’ll be so glad when this whole moving this is over with though.

    The nail polishes that I used are from Hot Topic’s Blackheart Beauty line. The purple is called “Main Squeeze”. It’s supposed to react in some way to a black light, but since we don’t seem to have any black lights anymore I haven’t been able to test that out. The metallic dark gray is called “Grey Metal”. It seems to be made up of a bunch of really fine glitter. I’ve got Sally Hansen’s “Insta-Dri Anti-Chip Top Coat” on top of them both. I’m getting near the end of the bottle on that and seem to be ending up with tons of bubbles on my nails because of it. (As is clearly visible on my thumb in that pic…) I might need to switch back to my other non quick drying top coat and start using Sally Hansen’s “Dry Kwik Polish Dryer” again…

    Like

Comments are closed.