Posted in Blogging, Writing Challenges

A glimpse inside my illusion: Week 6…

Here’s my answers for this weeks questions for Cee’s Share Your World Challenge over on her Cee’s Photography blog.

Have you watched or plan to watch any of the 2014 Winter Olympics?

Nope.

Whywedon'tracecats
(Yes, I’m aware that this picture doesn’t quite fit the questions being asked. But this is my blog, so I’ll use it in this post anyway.)

What is your favorite winter Olympic event? Would you ever want to be an expert in that sport?

I don’t have a favorite winter Olympic event.

NotCaringWhoWinsFootball
(And yes, I am aware that football is not a winter Olympic event.)

Have you ever met an Olympic Athlete?

Not that I know of.

barcalledthegym
(Are you sensing a pattern with the pictures included in this post?)

Do you have a favorite athlete? Name sport.

I’m not really into sports at all… So nope, no favorite athlete.

sport for people who don't like sports

What is your favorite exercise or sport? Is there a reason why?

ILOVEEXERCISE 

Ah, here’s a question I can actually answer. The only form of exercise that I really like is walking. And it’s a good thing that I enjoy walking, because it is my main form of transportation. My husband and I don’t own a car, so anytime that we need to go anywhere we walk there. Even when we are going to use public transportation to get to somewhere too far away to walk to, there’s still usually a fair amount of walking involved since the Trax station is about a mile away from our townhouse. And most of the time I will opt to walk instead of take public transportation for things that are closer that public transportation would be an option for. The closest grocery store is also about a mile away from us as well. We do rent a car via some car share services that are out here for the larger shopping trips, but for most trips to the store we walk there and back. My perspective about what is “too far” away to walk to has changed greatly in the years that we haven’t had a car. When my husband and I tell people that something 2 or 3 miles away is “not too bad of a walk” we tend to get looked at like we’ve lost our minds.

7 thoughts on “A glimpse inside my illusion: Week 6…

  1. I used to walk everywhere… when I lived in a town where that was feasible. Now… well, it’s 34 miles to work every day. Our closest grocery store is within walking distance at around a mile, but if we need a Target or something like that the closest one is 7 miles away.

    Like

    1. Oh c’mon DJ, you could totally walk to work. 34 miles? pshaw… 😛 Seriously though, I can see how a car would definitely be a necessity in your situation. How close my husband’s work was (about a mile) and how close we’d be to a grocery store were definitely big factors that had to be considered when we were looking to move last year. There were a lot of places that we liked but they didn’t have a grocery store anywhere near them, so they had to be placed in the “maybe someday if we buy a car again” category.

      Like

      1. I’d love to live closer to work… but, considering I’ve had jobs in 3 different cities in the last five years, and my current job is likely to move locations again, it isn’t feasible to even try to move closer. The second we unpacked the last box my job would move again. Thus, the car is essential. All part of the southern California commuter lifestyle.

        Like

  2. My husband’s job tends to move a lot too. Only in his case it’s always been to a different floor in the same building, or just one or two buildings over from the one that he was previously in, in the same parking lot. LOL

    Like

Comments are closed.