Posted in Food, Mental Health, Weight

National Eating Disorder Awareness week 2014

NEDAwarenessLogo

I never thought that actually losing some weight would trigger anorexic thoughts. Most of the time when I feel like I need to start restricting my diet it’s when I notice that I have gained some weight. But when I noticed that I had lost some weight a couple months ago I started having thoughts of restricting my diet to see just how low I could get my weight to go. I didn’t act on these thoughts and thought that I had come to terms with the fact that my body was losing weight and would eventually stabilize.

Until I happened to weigh myself a few days ago that is. The scale said 149 lbs and I freaked out about the fact that I was in the 140s and immediately started wondering if I restricted my diet, could I get my scale to say 145? It’s only 4 more lbs. And it has kind of been one of my “goal” weights and a weight that I never thought I’d actually see. I say one of my goal weights, because I know that as soon as I hit that I’d be focusing on getting down to 135, and then 125, and then 115…

Distorted Body Image

But here’s another way of looking at it. I am only 4 lbs away from 145 lbs. Why is that not good enough? Why is seeing a specific number on my scale so goddamn important?

love-myself

And why, when I see that my body has been naturally losing weight on it’s own do I not take away the lesson that I don’t need to starve myself in order to lose weight? And even if I did get down to a certain weight because I starved myself, what then? I wouldn’t be able to maintain that weight, and in fact would probably gain more weight back once I did start eating because my body will think that it needs to compensate for the fact that there isn’t enough food available for me to eat.

I have come too far to go back to disordered eating. I do not need it in my life. My life is better without it.

NEDA color quotesFashion Modelseating disorders aren't coolFatspiration #80I refuse to waste my life for a bikiniYou are strong, brave, amazingjudging defines youFatspiration #104Fatspiration #180eating without guiltFatspiration #65

NEDA-ads-edit-112012a

 

One thought on “National Eating Disorder Awareness week 2014

  1. Yes, I’m the same way. Once I start losing weight, I can’t stop. That’s how I end up in a relapse. My body has found it’s “comfortable” weight, and I need to be learn to be happy with that.

    Like

Comments are closed.