Posted in Hairstyles, Random

The extremes of my hair…

When I started this blog almost 3 years ago I had extremely long hair. And at the time I had no plans of ever cutting it short ever again.

wpid-IMG_20140128_134053.jpg IMG_20130207_162309 IMG_20130316_112143

But then I started to feel like my hair was getting too long and that it was just too much work to maintain it. So in March of 2014 I did cut it.

3-10-2014 Haircut Before (Edited) 3-10-2014 Haircut After Dry 1 (edited) 3-10-2014 Haircut (edited) 1

In fact, I had my husband cut off about 15 inches of my hair. And for a while I was happy with it. It was quicker and easier to care for, and it didn’t get in the way as much. But it was still long, and eventually I got tired of the maintenance it required as well. So I had my husband cut my hair again this past April.

4-23-2015

And then I cut it again this past July. And dyed it a dark purple.

7-13-2015 7-13-2015 back

At this point one of my friends told me that she thought I looked better with long hair and pointed out that if I went much shorter my husband and I would have the same hairstyle. I laughed at this and told her that I have gone about as short as my husband cuts his before.

And then I cut it again just a couple of days ago.

8-30-2015

It is now only a 1/2 inch long. Which is still longer than the 1/8 inch that my husband cuts his to, but pretty damn close to the two of us having the same hairstyle. I’m not quite sure what point my friend was trying to get across with her comment, but I don’t think that I’m going to confuse anyone with my “boys” haircut.

I know that when I allow my hair to grow out that it’s gorgeous and thick. I know that a lot of people would love to have hair like mine when it’s long. And I know that I probably look better with longer hair.

BUT, I also know just how exhausting and time-consuming it can be to care for my hair when it’s long. I was frustrated with the amount of maintenance that it required when it was only an inch long. So that’s why I cut it as short as it is. Because this hairstyle is NO maintenance. Which is exactly what I was looking for.

I’m giving myself a break from bad hair days for a while.

I’m giving myself the gift of the time that I would have had to spend on maintaining my hair, every day, if I had kept it long or had even just kept it an inch long.

Also, it’s only hair. It’ll grow back.

4 thoughts on “The extremes of my hair…

  1. I love the fact that you can pull off the ultra short and the ultra long styles just fine! You are lucky (and beautiful, of course).

    It really is just hair, so have at it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thanks. ❤ 🙂 Not everybody in my life seems to think that I can pull off the ultra short hair, but I think that some of them are of them opinion that short hair doesn't belong on women at all. And really, screw that bullshit. 😀

      Like

Comments are closed.