Posted in Apartment Living, Hairstyles, Marriage, Random

Over the weekend I…

Over the weekend I:

~Finally got the chance to see “Jurassic World” with Curtis. I really wish that we could have seen it in theaters. Maybe we’ll eventually be able to own a copy and will watch it in the theater room in the apartment complex that we are moving to in a month and a half.

~Totally had dinosaur shaped chicken nuggets for dinner the next night because I still had (/always have) dinosaurs on the brain (and because Costco had them on sale during our last shopping trip).

~Discovered that Curtis and I are already almost out of boxes for our move. All that we have left right now are some smaller boxes. We almost didn’t have enough boxes large enough to pack away the contents of our bookcases. Our one humongous box that we saved from our last move had to be used to store a combination of our board games and most of our blankets and comforters (thank goodness for space bags). We are really hoping that the U-Haul close to us still has that “leave a box, take a box” box set up so that we can hopefully pick up some more free boxes next weekend and continue to put off spending any money on boxes.

Great Idea until packing

~ Raided some of the boxes that had already been packed away to find what was left of my hair bleaching kit and “Ultra Violet” Manic Panic hair dye, plus my hair dryer. I then spent several hours Saturday night dyeing my hair purple. I am still sore today from all the time spent “heat treating” my hair with my hair dryer both while using the bleach and the purple hair color, and all the time spent kneeling with my head hanging over the tub to rinse out (with cold water) all the various substances involved in bleaching and dyeing ones hair. Here is the result of all my effort.

11-2-2015 1 11-2-2015 2

~ Walked to a couple of stores with Curtis with the intention of spending most of the money that we had on stocking up on food and buying Curtis a new pair sneakers. After Curtis found his new shoes we got sidetracked in the electronics section and ended up buying me a new (purple!) phone charger cord to replace the original one that was more electrical tape than cord. We luckily remembered to also buy some food before leaving the store.

~ Mused with Curtis about how different our lives might be now if we had never moved out of Connecticut. What sort of work might he have found? How much tighter might our finances be due to the higher cost of living and the fact that we probably wouldn’t have been able to get rid of our car. What if we had moved to Vermont like we always thought we would? Or if we had decided to not continue on to Utah while driving through Pennsylvania and had settled down there instead like we were tempted to? What if we had moved into the apartment complex that was our first choice when moving to Utah instead of into our third choice because it had Sunday hours? What differences might living in a completely different part of the Salt Lake Valley have made in the course of our lives?

~ Was stopped dead in my tracks by the beauty of Autumn starting finally starting to really show up out here. Bright yellow leaves popping against dark blueish gray clouds. Trees with red edged green leaves next to trees with leaves a burgundy red. There is a reason that Autumn is my favorite season.

7 thoughts on “Over the weekend I…

    1. I didn’t realize you were in Connecticut, where in Connecticut are you? I grew up in a little town on the shoreline called Guilford, and then moved over one town to Madison for a few months after getting married before moving across the country to Utah.
      We do miss Connecticut from time to time, but not enough that we’d ever really want to move back. Really it’s more of missing New England in general and wishing that we could afford to go back and visit more often.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I understand. I rarely encounter people from Connecticut or that still live in Connecticut, so when I do I wonder how much we have in common. 🙂 I mostly just wondered if you recognized the towns that I used to live in or if you were from a different corner of the state all together. Although, with Connecticut being a rather small state (especially compared to where I live now) it’s possible to be familiar with certain towns yet live on the other side of the state… But having grown up in southern Connecticut, I’m far more familiar with the towns in that area than I am with any of the northern Connecticut towns.

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.