Posted in Cat Mom, Grief

The sweetest cat I’ve ever known…

Two weeks ago today my cat, Teddy Bear, drifted off to sleep on my lap and never woke up.

He was approximately 14 years old and had been with us for 10 years. He had been in the beginning stages of kidney failure for the last few years and had developed a heart murmur within the last year. 

We brought him to vet that one last time because it was clear that he wasn’t feeling like himself. I knew that the news was likely to be bad and was grateful that I had been slowly trying to prepare myself for the eventually of him not coming home with us since first learning of the health problems that he had developed.

The test results were devastating, he was now in stage 4 kidney failure. There are only 4 stages. He was in the end stage and there was nothing more that could be done for him. 


Curtis and I made the heartbreaking decision to humanely end his suffering that day.


We petted him and told him over and over again how much we loved him as we waited for the vet tech to come in and go over all our options. I made the decision that I absolutely wanted to be there with him till the very end.


I held him on my lap for the last time and pet him as he drifted off to sleep and slipped away. 

2 thoughts on “The sweetest cat I’ve ever known…

  1. Oh my gosh! I am so sorry for your loss! About a year ago, my sweet Toddy, a fluffy tabby cat, went missing. We suspect that she was caught by a coyote. She was young and beautiful. I miss her terribly.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.