Posted in Blogging, Writing Challenges

Nano Poblano 2016 – Day 26: Some things about me…

Now that we’ve hit the final Saturday of Nano Poblano I’ve decided that it might be a good time to tell those of you who have only recently discovered my blog a bit about myself. Most people do this at the beginning of a blog posting challenge, but I don’t necessarily like to do things how other people do them. 

That being said, I am rather particular about how things get done. Especially when it comes to things around the apartment. You can just ask my husband.

My husband and I have do not have kids, nor do we ever want to have kids. There are many reasons for this, but the main one is that I just don’t like children.

Aside from the fact that I don’t like children, another reason why I never want to have kids is the fact that I have several mental illnesses. I have bipolar disorder, panic disorder, and social anxiety. I have not been on any medication for any of these things for over a decade but have all of them pretty well under control.

I do not have a job. My husband provides for the both of us. This is my choice. If I were to decide that I wanted to work my husband would support that as well.

My husband and I voluntarily decided to stop owning any sort of vehicle almost 7 years ago. The amount of money that we’re saving is well worth the slight inconvenience. 

My husband and I do our grocery shopping once a month. In order to do this we rent a van from U-Haul for the day. Costco is our friend.

My husband and I are both introverts. Me more than him. For years people would try to, or urge me to try to “fix” my introvertedness because they were convinced it was another part of my mental illnesses. I’m more than over that shit.

With all this talk of my husband you might assume that I am straight. If you did make that assumption you’d be wrong. I am bisexual. So, no, marrying a member of the opposite sex doesn’t magically turn someone completely heterosexual, I’ve been married to him for over 14 years now. Neither does joining a church and forcing yourself to deny that part of yourself. You cannot “pray the gay away.” Incidentally, you also can’t be cured of mental illnesses by simply praying hard enough, despite what I was repeatedly told by people in that church.

I’m assuming that it now comes as a shock to no one that I am decidedly not religious in any way, shape or form. 

7 thoughts on “Nano Poblano 2016 – Day 26: Some things about me…

  1. Thank you for sharing. That is very brave of you to face your mental challenges without medication. Hats off to you! And as for your lifestyle, sexual and religious preferences, what I see and care about in anyone is what is in their heart and how they treat others. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m sitting here giggling. We have more in common than I thought. 🙂 There is such a stigma about women who don’t enjoy children. I was certain I would never bare a child, I didn’t want one, but alas I was convinced by all those around me and my love interest at the time. I had one child, and I wanted to be sterilized on the table after his birth, but his father convinced me that I might change my mind and want another. I told him his mind was the only one that needed changing and when my son was 8 mos old I went to planned parenthood against the wishes of all who mattered to me, and promptly got myself fixed. I have never regretted that decision. I don’t regret my son either, I made that decision too no matter the reasons. I too, struggle with anxiety. Don’t ask me how I manage to be a hostess in a deli. Some days, I don’t feel I manage it well. This is my favorite part of blogging….. blokin. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I really should have mentioned in the post that one of the main reasons I’m not on medication is because I can’t afford treatment, among other complicated factors as well. I am in no way advocating for going without treatment for mental illnesses. (Not that I think that you thought that at all. Just something I realize I should have made clear to everybody. 🙂 )

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Much alike here, also. Childfree by choice, and permanently sterile to guarantee it. Not at all religious. And I don’t share your other choices, but I certainly see the appeal of most of them. Although I can’t imagine only grocery shopping once a month- I simply don’t have that kind of storage space!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.