Posted in Blogging, Health, Writing Challenges

I’m done dealing with Doctor’s offices for awhile…

If you read my post from yesterday you know about how much of a nightmare my last visit to a Doctor’s office was and how that nightmare continued when we received bills because they didn’t bill our insurance correctly. 

That was the third time in a little more than a  year where I was billed for things that should have been covered by insurance because the Doctor’s offices either coded things wrong or neglected to code them at all. 

The first time I was charged for a pap smear that should have been completely covered by insurance. I fought that for as long as I could, but ultimately the Doctor’s office refused to fix the codes and I ended up paying for it out of my own pocket. I would have continued to fight it, but I didn’t have the time or energy as I was in the middle of preparing to move again after only 2 years. 

The second time I was charged for one of my Depo Provera birth control injections. Birth Control is 100% supposed to be covered by insurance. This experience taught me that these injections that you need to get every 3-4 months are stupid expensive. Several hundred dollars expensive. During this go round my insurance was actually very helpful and talked to my Doctor’s office for me to tell them exactly what they needed to do to fix their mistake so that my insurance could pay. I did not end up paying for this.

And then the latest was what I wrote about yesterday where both my husband and myself received bills because my new (one time only) Doctor’s office neglected to use any sort of billing code for the blood work they did on us. Billing code left blank means insurance can’t cover it. We are waiting to see if we have to continue to fight this, or if the lady in charge of billing at that Doctor’s office will decide to actually do her job.

With all of this, I’m done. I had been told that I would only be able to use Depo Provera as my form of birth control for a couple of years before I would have to switch to another form because of the possible risks of staying on this form of birth control long term. After attempting to switch Doctor’s to one that was closer and then finding out that the place that we chose doesn’t even do birth control injections (despite saying they did when the appointments were set up), I’ve decided to just go off birth control for a while again rather than try to find yet another place to get it from. I considered switching to something more long term like an IUD, but I’m not comfortable with the idea of having something implanted in my body. Especially now that I’m unsure of what sort of healthcare I’m going to have access to in the next few years. I know that depending on the type I chose I wouldn’t have to worry about having it removed for 5-10 years, but what if something went wrong with it before then? Not to mention the fact that I’m not confident about what the state of healthcare will be even 10 years from now.

So for now, I’m done. We’ll see if I decide to try again to find a new Doctor in about a year or so.

2 thoughts on “I’m done dealing with Doctor’s offices for awhile…

    1. Thank you. August of 2015 was my first time going back to the doctor in over a decade, I went because it wasn’t supposed to cost me anything. Soon after that appointment is when I got that first bill. I was supposed to have some follow-up appointments after that first one for some stuff, but I cancelled them because they had already charged me for something they shouldn’t have and I couldn’t afford them charging me for anything else. I was hoping that a new doctor’s office would make things better, but you saw how that turned out. I’m going to take a time out and see what happens to healthcare in this country before deciding on my next move.

      Like

Comments are closed.