Posted in Blogging, Marriage, Writing Challenges

Yes, it’s just the two of us for the holidays. No, that’s not a bad thing.

For the last 12 years since my husband and I moved away from Connecticut and have been living in Utah we’ve spent all of the holidays alone. With the exception of one Thanksgiving that we spent with some friends a few years back, it’s just been the two of us. 

Towards the beginning it was hard because Thanksgiving and Christmas had always been big family affairs. But over the years I’ve come to realize that I actually prefer spending the holidays with just my husband. 

We sleep in as long as we want. We don’t have to get dressed up. Hell, we can just wear our pajamas all day. No worries about infuriating political discussions. We can spend the entire day playing video games. 

And most importantly for my extreme introvert self, I don’t have to interact with any human beings other than my husband.

I don’t have to explain again that I don’t work anywhere because:

Long story – Mental Illnesses.

 Short story – I don’t want to.

I don’t have to try to find an acceptable answer to the question – “Well, what do you do all day if you don’t work?” 

Seriously, that question can die a fiery death. But in case you’re wondering what my non-acceptable answer is (that might just be my answer from now on anyway, because fuck trying to live up to anyone else’s standards), it’s whatever the hell I want. And housework.

I don’t have to explain to anyone that I’m still not pregnant yet because I never want to be pregnant.

To be fair, I probably wouldn’t have to deal with most of these questions from most of my immediate family. Most of these questions have actually come from random people over the years, and not necessarily during the holidays. 

But still, while I do miss my family somewhat during the holidays, I’m no longer homesick because what my husband and I have has become home. It’s just the two of us, and that’s the way I like it.

9 thoughts on “Yes, it’s just the two of us for the holidays. No, that’s not a bad thing.

  1. Merry Christmas! Take it from one, childless, married old woman. You don’t have to answer any of those rude questions as it’s no one’s business but you and your husbands. They can stuff it. I learned various rude and non-rude ways of answering the same questions years ago. Keep up the good work. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t like going to large family reunions for a lot of the same reasons. Too many people, makes me feel like things are too chaotic and they always ask questions about what I am up to and why I am not married. The short answer is “I suck” but I certainly don’t want to have a conversation about it. I really don’t like talking about my personal life that much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t agree with your short answer, you most certainly do not suck. Maybe go with “life circumstances have sucked”.
      But really, if I wanted people to know stuff about my personal life, they’d know. Why does it matter to them how I spend my days?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They just want to connect. For some reason the two most important questions for people are ‘What do you do for a living?’ and ‘Your romantic life — married, seeing someone, children, blah blah’. It’s weird, I don’t get it either.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. They’re asking all the wrong things. It should be, “Do you have a blog?” and “Have you seen this awesomely funny meme before?” And then if they don’t find the meme funny you know they probably aren’t worth spending time around. 😀 (This is probably why I’m not good at socializing… 😂)

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.